Font Size: AA

Mayor & Council


Mayor and Council

Back row from left to right: Councillor Gord Bushell and Mayor Terry Rysz.

Front row from left to right: Councillor Malcolm Makayev, Councillor Todd Kyllo, Councillor Colleen Anderson, Councillor Janna Simons and Councillor Jeff Mallmes.

The business of the District of Sicamous is conducted officially by the Municipal Council, which is comprised of a Mayor and six Councillors. All Council business is conducted at either Regular Council meetings or Special Council meetings, and all decisions are expressed either by a Council Resolution or a Bylaw. Many of the matters which Council must consider are forwarded for Council’s consideration through the recommendations of the various Committees. Municipal staff carry out the instructions of Council based on the decisions which are made at Council meetings.

Regular Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Wednesday (effective December 10, 2014) of every month, commencing at 6:00 p.m., in Council Chambers, 446 Main Street, Sicamous, B.C. The Mayor chairs the meetings. Council encourages public attendance at its Regular meetings, through Public Participation.

As required, Council also holds Special meetings, which may include “In Camera” meetings. Special meetings are open to the public and are held when a matter of some urgency, which cannot await the next scheduled Regular Council meeting, requires a decision. Special “In Camera” meetings deal with matters which are related to personnel, property transactions or legal issues; these meetings are not open to the public. Only confidential topics are discussed in these meetings, and they are treated in this manner to protect individual privacy or to safeguard the interests of the Municipality from the premature release of information which could compromise the Municipality.

Regular Council meetings are conducted in accordance with the District of Sicamous Council Procedure Bylaw. This bylaw defines the rules of how the council meetings are held and conducted, including the agenda format. 

District of Sicamous Research Portfolio Protocols

Previous Councils