The next general local election will be held on Saturday, October 15, 2022

The Voter’s Guide to Local Elections in BC answers questions about who can and cannot vote, identification requirements and how to register.

Am I Eligible to Vote?
If you live or own property in Sicamous, you may be eligible to vote in Sicamous’ municipal election if you meet all requirements as either a:

You can only vote once in Sicamous’ municipal election. To receive a ballot you must:

  • qualify as either a resident or non-resident property elector; and
  • not be disqualified from voting under any law.


Stay tuned for more information on how to cast your vote for the
2022 General Local Election!

Register for a Mail-Ballot Package between August 2 and October 7, 2022.

This Election, Mail Ballot Voting is available for resident electors and non-resident property electors.

Here's What You Need to Know!

  • Legislation was updated in 2021 that allows all electors to vote by mail if authorized by bylaw. Council has adopted the Election & Assent Voting Amending Bylaw No. 1017, 2022 that provides eligible electors to vote-by-mail for the 2022 General Local Election.
  • Registration for a Mail Ballot Voting Package will be between August 2 and October 7, 2022.
  • The District uses Same-Day Voter Registration – the Mail Ballot Package will include your application to register. Proof of identity and residency will still be required, and electors that vote by mail can still be challenged pursuant to the Local Government Act. Please contact the Chief Election Officer at 250-836-5263 or jbruns@sicamous.ca if you have any questions.
  • Mail Ballot Packages may be mailed to you or picked up at Municipal Hall (446 Main Street) during regular office hours by the applicant or an Authorized Person.
  • Mail Ballots will be accepted at Municipal Hall (446 Main St) until the polls close at 8:00 p.m. on General Voting Day – October 15, 2022.
  • Mail-in Ballots will include Candidates for District of Sicamous Mayor and Council as well as Trustee Electoral Area 2 Candidates for School District #83.